FO: Flower Hat

Pattern: OP’s
Yarn: Cascade 220
Needles: US 7

Still way behind on finished object posts, but here’s another for FO Friday!

Untitled

The colors are weird in this shot.

First let me start by saying this is 90% my daughter’s design. OP wanted a hat with flowers. She picked a flower chart from several given to her and chose the colors. I used double knitting to give her two hats in one (and because I had never tried it). I did ask her to change from blue and green to a combination because I’m old and the two were way to similar for my elderly eyes.

Untitled

The reverse side and more accurate representation of the colors.

Double knitting was interesting. I love Fair Isle and thought it would be just as easy and fun (Yes, I find it fun. I’m a geek), but it was a headache. I did start to get it down and after a while it wasn’t so bad. I’d even do it again.

Untitled

The fifth time I cast on.

Sadly, the child doesn’t wear it much. Before I could finish it, she was given another hat and that became her favorite, which is fine. The other hat is cute and I did knit the flower hat a little big so she could grow into it. When it is really cold, she does pull the flower hat out (two layers of knitting it is WARM) and I have been known to steal it on occasion. Hey, she stole Maluka so it is only fair.

Untitled

It should be noted that the child has recently been sold to gypsies because she asked that I make her another hat. One that is purple and pink with all kinds of things that start with ‘P’ on it.

One thought on “FO: Flower Hat

  1. You should see my friend, Ellen’s post showing the pink and purple socks she just knitted. If we change the colors you could knit a pair for OP!!!!

Leave a Reply

