Happy New Year!!!

I hope everyone had wonderful New Year celebrations. We were child free and went to a grown-up party of a style that’s not in our comfort zone. No, not a swingers party or something of that ilk. Ew. We went to a party with grown ups who talked and weren’t playing video games, knitting, gaming, or watching TV. It was weird, but a lot of fun. By 11:00 I was done in by 3 inch heels, leftover illness, and being old so we left, but it was nice to go home since the crazy part of me was freaking out that I didn’t have my wedding rings on and if we entered 2015 and I wasn’t wearing my rings, darkness would reign, zombies would attack, terrorists would steal chocolate, cats and dogs living together…needless today it would be a bad omen. I did mention I was crazy, didn’t I? We watched the ball drop (not a euphemism) from home. The next day we went to the movies, had Korean, and picked up the kid.

All in all it has been a good start and it’s been that way all week, minus getting sick again. I cleaned my desk (major miracle), knit several nights in a row (!), hacked my hair, and played a very odd round of dolls with my kid where Elsa and Anna were trapped but Elsa (played by OP) likes being trapped so she refused to escape while Anna (me) tried to encourage her to freeze the door and punch people. And yes, I shouldn’t teach my kid to punch, but if Elsa is trapped in a room and punching will get her to freedom, she needs to turn into Muhammad Ali and open a can of whoop-ass. Unfortunately, she wasn’t buying it. Anna did escape, though, with Elsa’s help, and saved all of the princesses from the trap. She went back periodically to visit Elsa and Elsa would leave occasionally to visit Anna and the princesses. I don’t get it.

Untitled

You’ll never get it, Mom!

Looking back, 2012 was one of the worst years I have experienced, 2013 was a little better, and 2014 was fine, albeit stressful. It’s nice to have a good year to balance out the bad. I hope that 2015 improves upon 2014. Every year I start with the same resolutions–knit more, exercise more, and update more. Yeah, I never fulfill those and they are not going to happen this year either so I’m not bothering. Especially, with classes. But, I just want to live more and enjoy more. I spend too much time worrying and I need to *cue Elsa* let it go. I don’t know about you, but I cannot think those words without trying to make snowflakes out of thin air. I have my next step figured out for education, I bought the textbooks I can, and I have a wonderful family who I love and usually like to spend time with.

Sleep would be good too.

Since I referenced the hair.

Since I referenced the hair.

Leave a Reply

