I’m so tired…

Well, this week started off with a bang. Or should I say, yawn? Sunday night, the night before my fall semester, I got about 2 hours of sleep, maybe 3. My brain was awake and my knee hurt. By 2am I decided to attempt sleeping again, which is about the same time my daughter started having issues. Attend to that and I’m awake again. Thursday night, same issue minus the daughter–awake until 2–and I was running on about 4 hours sleep.

Friday, I met the Husband, OP, and friends at the campsite that would be our home for the weekend. OP had a blast. On Saturday, she went to bed relatively easily, a rare feet when camping. I lay on the sleeping bag trying to sleep when I heard OP wimpering. “Oh crap,” I thought, “Is she having a nightmare?.” I whispered, “OP, are you okay?” then thought, “Wait, this whimpering sounds familiar. Is she about to….OH CRAP!!!!” Vomit. All over. I grabbed her to, I don’t know, catch the vomit or get her out of the tent. I wasn’t really thinking.

Covered, in green beans and corn bread, I got her out of the tent and started heading blindly and barefoot to the bathroom a few yards away. Our friends were in a camper and had gone to bed, so I figured we were on our own. Once I got to the bathroom, I realized there were no paper towels. I turned back to the campsite to get towels or something.

Fortunately, at that point our friends were up and helping the Husband clean. I went in to use their shower to traumatize my poor baby by washing off the vomit. She went to watch a movie in our friends’ camper and I went out to help the Husband clean the tent.

As we cleaned, OP threw up again (fortunately into a bowl). We assessed the damage and realized half of everything was covered and it was time to go home where we had access to more supplies. Did I mention it was midnight at this point and about 30 minutes into OP being sick and throwing up twice.

We cleaned and packed what we could. I went for a midnight shower to get the green beans out of my hair and we went home.

Vomit number 3 happened as we took OP out to the car. Numbers 4, 5, and 6 on the 45-ish minute ride home. The final time, number 7, was about an hour after OP fell asleep. Then, yet another hour later she came in crying with a potty accident. A yucky potty accident. Thank goodness she was in pull-ups.

OP finally slept several hours and spent Sunday on the couch refusing to eat. She had only one slice of cinnamon toast all day because, “I don’t want to eat slowly.” Then she fell asleep at the laundromat at 5:00 and woke up this morning at 6. Poor thing.

We think it was most likely food poisoning, but we’re not completely sure of the source. Ironically, we talked briefly about food poisoning at dinner. Today, OP is doing pretty well, but I think it will be another lazy day for her. I cannot thank our friends enough for helping us clean and taking care of OP before we went home. The Husband was also amazing–doing the bulk of the clean up while trying not to vomit himself. And me? I’m tired, but I’m glad it’s over and she’s doing much better. If nothing else, it’s a camping trip we will remember and maybe we’ll be able to laugh about it next year.

4 thoughts on “I’m so tired…

  1. I suffer from the dreaded insomnia and was a grumpy miserable old sod yesterday night as I actually soo wanted to sleep but somehow couldn’t. I was crocheting arguing with the dog and telling my two tom cats Alfred and Archie to stop leaping off the furniture (by the way thank you for the pattern I have exchanged a hat (as per your pattern and a scarf ) in exchange for having my car cleaned inside and out (thank you little cousin). Anyway: I digress I actually fell asleep with crochet in hand cat neatly perched on chest dog snoring and Alf somewhere I had managed to sleep through until 7.30am !!! Then feeling rather terrible about moaning to Rosie Dog (the retired greyhound. I came back to print your pattern and began to read your 1st September diary… glad your little girl is much better and thank you for making me realise that my day was just a hiccup and not a crisis.

    Regards SLC Hibernia

    • I’m glad the pattern’s working out! Yeah, being up at night is frustrating, but it is usually a passing issue. I think I figured out some of the problem–my knee has been keeping me up–and I’ve been sleeping better. :)

Leave a Reply

