Don’t let the door hit you on the way out

Did you know it’s almost 2014? When 2013 started I was lamenting at how awful 2012 was and hoping the new year would be better. Well, I’m thinking the same thing at the end of 2013. It wasn’t great and I hope 2014 is better. Not to say that 2013 was awful, it was a little better than 2012, but let’s just say it won’t be hard to go up from here. That said, I have a wonderful husband who still refuses to peel my grapes and fan me as I lounge around while he cleans the house. Stubborn husband. I have a smart, beautiful, and healthy little girl who lights every day, even when she’s being Cranky MacCrankerson.

So, what happened in 2013? Well, I barely knit and bought way too much yarn. That’s right. I bought too much yarn. Aren’t you shocked? I went to two yarn festivals. I’m sorry, FIBER festivals as I was corrected at one. It’s all so beautiful, though and someday will be knit into something rather than be a mountain of FIBER that I roll around in laughing maniacally. I am behind on FO posts so I need to get that done and update Ravelry with my new stash. Maybe 2014 will be the year I use up a lot of yarn. I can’t say that with a straight face. But, look at some of my pretty, pretty yarn!

Persimmon Tree Farm from a festival

Persimmon Tree Farm from a festival.

Malabrigo from Halcyon in Maine

Malabrigo from Halcyon in Maine.

I was really into a purple for a while, but decided to change it up drastically at my second festival.

Funky Monkey

Funky Monkey

Comic book inspired yarn. This color-way is called Starfire.

Comic book inspired yarn. This color-way is called Starfire and will be handwarmers.

I did buy more yarn from Knit Picks, but I can’t find a photo and I have no idea where it is at the moment.

I also started school (which was a good thing), but well, you knew that and I’ve talked about it WAY too much.

My knee had issues this year and I’m now off running. I can really only bike, swim, and walk comfortably because I apparently can’t do the elliptical without locking my knee. In case you didn’t know, it is kind of painful to lock your knee when it is being crappy. I have been asked by several people how I hurt my knee. The short answer is, I didn’t because my knee is crap. The fun answer is that a group of ninjas broke in and I fought them off. The long answer is…long.

I had ACL surgery…wait for it…20 years ago. Oy. Technically 20 1/2 years. Anyway, my knee was never right after the surgery, which isn’t uncommon from what I’ve been told AND I also was a really stupid teenager and did a bad job with PT. NEVER do a bad job with PT. I decided long ago, however, to ignore my knee and just do what I want which has worked quite well up to now. This also may be why, with all my issues, the orthopedist was impressed with how good my knee was compared to what he’s seen 20 years after ACL surgery. So, go me. Earlier this year, I started getting a very sharp pain when I kicked in Zumba to the point where it felt like things were not quite attached. I ignored it, because every time I go to see a doctor because my knee is clicking, ticking, or exploded, I am told nothing is wrong and I just didn’t want to hear nothing was wrong again. Apparently I am not the brightest bulb in the pack.

I decided to stop doing Zumba, but I could keep running with my brace so I was fine. I started noticing that it hurt going up and down stairs or getting out of my daughter’s bed (mainly because she blocks the way and I have to launch myself out of the bed Jackie Chan style), but I ignored it because I’m an idiot. In the fall, I thought I would try Zumba again to see how my knee was doing. I had been doing some evil exercise classes with no pain, so I thought I was fine. Nope. Same pain during Zumba, but this time it felt like tendons had twisted around each other. Then, the next week I forgot my brace for running and couldn’t. My doctor tested how loose my knee was and I couldn’t walk three hours later. Now running is verboten while I go through PT to build the muscles which will better support the joint. I hate PT, but this time I’m being a very good girl. I hope.

Take another picture, mother, and I'll break your other knee.

Take another picture, mother, and I’ll break your other knee.

Leave a Reply

