Oy

And we are sick again. Of course. Why would the universe want me to get in exercise for more than one week at a time? Or you know, clean?

It’s a weird cold or something, and we all have it in different stages. OP is pretty much done, I’m about half through (I think), and the Husband is starting. The last illness I had, like 2 weeks ago, turned into bronchitis. This one? Laryngitis. I’m afraid of what the next illness will bring. Alzheimer’s? Cancer? Explosive diarrhea? You know it’s a classy blog, when they reference explosive diarrhea.

Holy crap, laryngitis sucks, and I think it’s my fault.

I mean, yes, it’s my fault. I taught a training class which meant speaking for 1 1/2 hours with a mild cold and my larynx decided it was done. I get that, but that’s not why it’s my fault. It’s my fault because when I was a stupid kid (probably an angsty tween), I had a friend who had laryngitis. And I thought it would be so cool to have it. That’s right, I thought it would be cool to have laryngitis. I thought it would be cool to mime everything I need to say. I thought it would be cool to hiccup like a mouse on helium. I’m sure karma rubbed her palms together while laughing maniacally thinking “Oh you will, child. You will.”

Karma waited years and when my crime was so heinous, ZAP! I never realized how much I talk on a general basis. Yeah, all you people who know me in real life, stop shaking your heads and laughing. When I get my voice back, I’m talking 3 times more often. It is so frustrating to have to type out everything you want to say. The few signs I know help, and the Husband is very good at guessing my pantomime. It has definitely given me a even bigger respect for anyone who cannot communicate with people they are with. The patience it builds must be huge. I would not do well.

Right now I feel like Raj from the Big Bang Theory giving a lecture at an all girls college.

One thought on “Oy

  1. I am so sorry that you’ve been seriously I’ll for so long but I couldn’t help but laugh at today’s blog. In spite of everything your humor is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

