“A date which will live in infamy”

On December 8, 1941, President Franklin D. Roosevelt delivered his Infamy speech that birthed the quote I used for my title. It was the day after Pearl Harbor and Roosevelt was referring to a momentous event that subsequently launched the US into the second War to End All Wars. (Well, okay, the War to End All Wars was WWI, but it didn’t work, now did it?)

So my little day of infamy has nothing on the terror and the death toll of Pearl Harbor, but in my own little corner in my own little chair? It’s momentous. I went to a yarn festival and didn’t buy yarn. Not. One. Single. Skein.

I’ll wait while you let that sink in.

Ready?

No yarn!?! You are dead to me, Momma!

No yarn!?! You are dead to me, Momma!

I KNOW! I’m just as shocked as you. I had plans to buy yarn. I was looking for some lightly variegated or non-variegated sock yarn and yarn specific to two projects. But, nothing really called out to me. Wait, that’s not true. I found some sparkly purple yarn that my daughter (and I) LOVED and as I reached down to buy it for a shawl for OP, I thought about all the horror that poor little skein would go through at the hands of a 2 1/2 year old and put it back for its own safety. It would find a better forever home than mine.

That’s not to say, I didn’t get anything. I picked up a needle bag from JessaLu that fits perfectly in the medium sized project bags. Except, um, I bought it for a purse to store change and pens. And OP, who loves the yarn fest because she gets to eat a cider donut AND cider, got a sheep! She named her Lammy.

Lammy and the Daleck

Lammy and the Daleck

I know many of my fellow yarn addicts are shocked I left without yarn, and while I’m just as shocked as you, I’m actually proud that I didn’t wantonly buy yarn I wasn’t going to use any time soon. I’m slowly going through my stash and I feel better as I use it up. That, or Rhinebeck’s in a month and I’m holding out.

If I can get Lammy in there, then it's being used for knitting. Right?

If I can get Lammy in there, then it’s being used for knitting. Right?

One thought on ““A date which will live in infamy”

Leave a Reply

