Mini Ham & Cheese Quinoa Cups

Pinterest is one of those wonderful sites that’s not really useful but made of awesome, and you can’t imagine living your life without it. I have a TON of recipes pinned to my recipe board that I will probably never make, but drool over if I go in and look. Last week I made one of those recipes, Mini Ham & Cheese Quinoa Cups.

The Husband had a race last week and was looking for some egg white cups I had made (and finished) a couple weeks back. He was all sad because he wanted to make an egg sandwhich for breakfast.  Since I had been planning on making the Mini Ham & Cheese Quinoa Cups, I made them for him. I figured they’d be exactly what he was looking for. Awwww…. I lurve him. Or I’m a sucker. You pick.

Ingredient List

2 cups cooked quinoa (about 3/4 cup uncooked)
2 eggs
2 egg whites
1 cup zucchini, shredded
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1/2 cup diced ham
1/4 cup parsley, chopped
2 Tablespoons parmesan cheese
2 green onions, sliced
salt & pepper

The rest of the recipe can be found on the site…

I did not include the ham, because I don’t like ham. It’s gross. Mostly. I also used dried parsley because I’m just that tacky. Plus, I hate chopping parsley.

Let me take a step back. I’m struggling with breakfasts right now. For some reason, the addition of OP in my life is a giant, chaotic road block to healthy breakfast eating. Which means, I’ve been trying to find healthy things I can just pull out of the fridge that’s not overly processed and not boring. And are good for her when she steals them. I also LOVE quinoa so this recipe looked like a win-win.

Other than shredding the zucchini, it’s a really easy to put together, and even that part isn’t horrible, especially if you can guilt someone to do it for you. Which I didn’t do, but I will next time. Of course now he’s read this and will be onto my plan. As I was mixing everything together, I began to worry that it wasn’t eggy enough for what the Husband was looking for–it was mostly quinoa with egg binding it together–so I added an extra egg, for him. Yup, I’m a sucker.

I also forgot the salt and pepper because I’m an old lady who forgets things.

Dried parsley, no ham, no salt, no pepper, and an extra egg later, I pulled these out of the oven and oh my freaking goodness, they were AWESOME. Unbelievably good. The Husband claimed he loved them in the morning before his race. They weren’t quite what he had in mind, but he was also planning to have an english muffin for his sandwich which we haven’t had them in the house in months. Do you feel for him?

I just put them in the freezer and haven’t tried them so I don’t know how well they freeze, yet. I also haven’t given them to the child, but she’s 2 and will probably not like them because it’s neither dirt nor milk and that’s all she’s eating today. Either way, go out and make this recipe. So darn good.

I'm only trying this non-dirt/non-milk food because you're making me. I don't have to like it.

I’m only trying this non-dirt/non-milk food because you’re making me. I don’t have to like it.

One thought on “Mini Ham & Cheese Quinoa Cups

Leave a Reply

