Raw Cookie Dough Bites

When I was taking classes in the spring and summer semesters, I always seemed too busy to cook. While it’s understandable that a busy schedule impedes the inclination to cook, I’ve completely gotten out of the habit and have barely cooked since finishing my classes. Wow, that was a lot of big words.

I love cooking and I love trying new recipes. So I had the idea to start blogging about my experiences in cooking. I figured it will give me a reason to cook more and give me something to write about!

Two birds meet my one stone.

Just don’t expect pictures and all recipes will be available online. And be advised, this may very well be the only post.

I’ll start with a quick recipe and one I’ve been using a lot for my post workout snack–Raw Cookie Dough Bites. Yeah, I know. If someone says cookie dough, I’m diving in headfirst, mouth open. This is a raw vegan cookie, so don’t let that scare you. It’s super easy, and all you need is a food processor and freezer. That’s it.

Ingredients:

2/3 cup raw almonds
2/3 cup raw walnuts
2/3 cup raw oat flakes (see note below)
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp sea salt
1/4 cup raw agave nectar
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
3 tbsp cacao nibs or dark chocolate chips

See the recipe

I don’t follow the ingredients exactly. I use normal old fashioned oatmeal that you buy in the cardboard tub, thing. Like this, thanks Quaker oats guy! I also have very little nice things to say about agave nectar so I won’t regularly cook with it. I did try this recipe with agave once to get a sense of how it should be. Then I substituted honey. I thought the honey was very similar to the original without being overly sweet.

I recently tried maple syrup and that was a big fail. Apparently, maple syrup doesn’t freeze well and my perfect little balls started smooshing together in the bag, so now I have one big ball in my freezer that I just rip parts from.

And that sounds so wrong.

The cookie bites really meet that desperate need for sweet. You know the feeling, where you’d lick floor because you spilled chocolate chips in 2006 and there still could be some chocolate dust there in the grout AND YOU NEED CHOCOLATE!!  Is that just me?

OP LOVES these and I don’t feel like I’m the Worst Mother In The World© for letting her have one.

Watch out, Mom. I'm going to start posting my recipe reviews!

Watch out, Mom. I’m going to start posting my recipe reviews!

Leave a Reply

