FO: Makoto

Pattern: Makoto
Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock
Needles: US 1 (I think)

_MG_5580

Fortune Cookie Socks

Have I mentioned that I’m part of the Cookie A Sock Club? Oh I have? 73,428 times, you say? Well, now it’s 73,429!

The sock club (73,430)  sends yarn, 2 sock patterns (1 easy, 1 hard), and 2 cookie recipes every other month. In February, we received our first shipment and Makoto was the easy pattern.

I wasn’t in love with Makoto the first time I saw it, but I did like the idea of fortune cookies all over my feet. I decided to use some Socks that Rock I had in my stash that, while variegated, didn’t have too much contrast.

I should state right up front that I have the WORST luck with socks. I usually have to rip out an entire sock, reknit a section 20 times, or salt and burn their bones to prevent them from killing again.

Wait. That last one is ghosts. Sorry, my bad.

_MG_5584

Side View

Anyway, I have problems with socks, so I was pleasantly surprised when the sock club (73,431) pattern wasn’t too bad! I did knit the first sock too short, but that was such an easy frog and re-knit that it only took about a day to fix. Otherwise, nothing. The heel went smoothly, the leg was a dream, and the rest was good. I’m probably going to be bitch slapped by knitting Karma soon and have a project nightmare, but for now, I’ll take it.

Overall, I’m really happy with the pattern. I’m happy with the color I chose. To be fair, I cheated and watched as other sock club (73,432) members posted their starts so I could see how different color combinations worked with the pattern. (I love Ravelry.)

The only complaint I do have is that it’s a very bulky sock. So bulky that I have cankles when I wear them. People, I have many, many flaws, but cankels are not one of them. I don’t know if the bulky sock is attributed to the pattern itself or the yarn. It’s possible that it’s a combination of both. It’s also possible that I knit the socks a bit too big which accounts for the bulk. I think they fit well, but maybe I should have gone down a needle size or something. Of course, considering I will be wearing these with pants, the cankles will most likely not be an issue.

_MG_5582

Hmmmmm, that’s almost the same as the first picture. Talk about lack of photographic vision.

2 thoughts on “FO: Makoto

Leave a Reply

