Tales from around here

I took Friday off to give myself a four day week. I figured that it may very well be the last time I can take off before all the big projects hit at work, and I thought it would be fun to knit, knit, and knit. The Husband decided to try to spoil my day by coming home sick around 2:00 and sleeping. How dare he? Poor thing was sick most of the weekend. At least on Saturday he had the day to himself as I went out with my very awesome friend from Sweet Gracie Mae. We had a blast shopping for fabric things, eating vegan, and buying the best pasta I have ever had from Flour City Pasta.

Am I not the queen of linking to stores today?

Anyway, I then started getting a nasty cold, but I had hoped that it wouldn’t become the nasty disease the Husband had. Yesterday, it started and last night I couldn’t sleep. I’m home today doing some work, failing to sleep, and resting.

So what else is going on around here?

OP is obsessed with her snow boots. That’s all she wants to wear and it’s driving me mad. I guess it’s because they are outdoor snow boots and make her feet smell. They are not easy running around like a mad child shoes. I’m trying to let it go and let her express herself, although I have thought about buying her a second pair of boots but then she probably wouldn’t wear them anyway.

I found Raising My Rainbow (link crazy!), which is a mommy blog covering the “Adventures in raising a slightly effeminate, possibly gay, totally fabulous son.” The parents of this kid are amazing. They let him express himself through clothing and toys that are non-traditional for boys. In other words, they let the kid wear tutus play with barbies if that’s what he wants. It’s inspiring. I suspect they have to put some limitations of course. If it’s cold and raining, maybe he wears his pretty pink galoshes instead of the sparkly dress shoes.

We try very hard to do the same with OP. Not because of the blog, we’ve been doing it since day one although I’m not great at it yet. OP is very normal in her gender issues, and obviously it’s not the same for a girl if she wasn’t (for some reason it’s okay for a girl to wear camo pants, a football jersey, and work boots while playing with cars but if a boy plays with dolls the world will end!!!). But we try to let her express herself through her clothes and play how she wants, within reason. We have some limitations. She can’t juggle knives of course (unless mommy is really tired and desperate) and she’s not allowed to wear PJs during the day unless there’s a special reason. One, in the winter it’s not warm enough, and two, we don’t have enough of the darn things and I don’t want to do laundry every 3 days. I’m a bitch that way. But the boots are driving me nuts. I should get a picture of them, though, they are adorable. It’s a learning process and I’m getting better at it. Why can’t she just wear her sneakers some times!?!

Bring out your dead!

Wait until I'm a teenager, Mommy. You'll be in the loony bin!

 

4 thoughts on “Tales from around here

  1. I try to do the same with Cecilia. She’s pretty clearly “girl”, but she loves Woody and Buzz and cars and monsters and talks about wanting to be a Daddy when she grows up and says things like “I’m a boy right now!” I don’t read anything into things either way, but I also feel no need to “correct” her – heck, if she wants to be a Daddy, that’s fine!

    • I don’t know what I’d do if she said she’s a boy right now. OP understands the difference between boy and girl so I’d probably correct her because technically she’s a girl. Heck, I’ve been trying to explain chromosomes to her so she knows why she’s a girl. It’s hilarious when she says chromosomes but really she just stares at me. Right now she can’t really talk to me about or understand the nuances of gender by chromosome vs. gender by identity.

Leave a Reply

