Happy 2012

I’m so tired. I did weights and ran today, and it’s just hitting me hard. While I did push and run a 5k in 30:06 with about 30 seconds of walking to fix my iPod, I’m most likely tired because I’ve been very inconsistent with exercise lately. Actually, through most of 2011. I let too many things get in the way–work, baby, illness, laziness–and I just kept putting it off. I have too much cholesterol and cancer in my family to do that, so I’ve decided that I will work to be more consistent with exercise this year.

With that decree out there, I have to say that I’m not a huge fan of New Year’s resolutions. I do admit to making goals at the start of the new year, so I guess while I say I’m not a fan of resolutions, I do do them. At least I try to make them realistic. Last year I decided I wasn’t going to buy any yarn in 2011, unless I had a specific project in mind and no yarn in the stash. I met that goal with flying colors. I also planned to get my photography in a show. Sadly, I did not have time to build a strong portfolio, and I realized that I don’t think my work is that good. You can’t pimp yourself if you think you’re sub-par. On a positive note, I did get my work in a show at the Y. That’s something.

So if I’m setting goals and consistent exercise is one, I will continue my yarn limitations. I’m at 51yarn items on Ravelry (down from 53!!!) , but I still have more to add in. And the Husband bought Cookie A’s 2012 sock club so I’m getting 6 skeins throughout the year. I need to spend 2012 stash busting, cataloging the last of my yarn yarn, and knitting knitting knitting! Even if it drives me crazy, which it will. The Husband’s scarf will slow me down, but it will be so pretty when it’s done.

2012 is going to be a crazy year. Now through June, work will be insane. We’ll be rolling out new designs, a new content management system, and new apps. Plus I’ll be taking a class and doing homework for a grade. Do we all remember how crazy I went in my sweater class last year and there was no grade? Yeah, I’m doomed. At least I only have 2 goals to contend with and my class on exercise science may help with my fitness goals.

Okay, my chai is kicking in. Time to do some dishes. What are your resolutions this year?

Leave a Reply

