FO: Camo Hat and Handwarmers

Hat Pattern: 1×1 Ribbed Hat
Handwarmers: Sucky Thumb Mitts
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease Solids, Heathers & Twists
Needles: US 6

IMAG0450

And why are you making me wear these things?

My nephew moved from a warm climate to a colder one, Chanukah was coming, and I needed to use up my stash that is still going strong at 53 items (with more on the way) *ahem*. Enter, handwarmers and a hat!

_MG_5199

She knew these weren't for her and gave them back after modeling them.

I used my standard 1×1 ribbed hat pattern because it just works so well. And that totally sounds like a shameless plug, but I didn’t mean for it to be. Of course now it is a plug. The Sucky Thumb Mitts pattern is a really good one, and I highly recommend it. Between that pattern and my last fingerless gloves project, I think I understand the idea behind the hand warmer construction and may try my hand at creating a pattern that’s in my head. But I’ve digressed, haven’t I?

_MG_5184

The finished pieces

I guess I don’t have much to say about the project. It went together really fast and really well. I’m happy with the finished product. I’m a bit of a yarn snob and have had bad luck with Lion’s Brand in the past, but they redeemed themselves with this yarn. It was a good, solid yarn without any breaks. AND I liked the color. I bet it was because my Godson bought it for me.

_MG_5195

Handwarmers on my kid.

We’ll see how the nephew takes to them. He may find the yarn tastes better than anything.

One thought on “FO: Camo Hat and Handwarmers

Leave a Reply

