Running Free(ish)

Back in November I ran my very first 10k (6.2 miles). My training had issues in October and November thanks to illness, a bad back, and general laziness. Had my training stayed consistent before the event, I would have felt and done much better. My time was pretty good, around 1:10 or so, but at 4 miles I started to really lose it. My left knee just went and each step was painful. Walking was better, but I didn’t want to walk, I wanted to run this race. I’ve since fixed this issue by picking up a Cho-Pat Knee Strap, which I greatly recommend. It’s not meant for all knee issues, but for my type of knee issues, it works great. The pain is mostly gone and my knees feel better overall. Everything is more stable. I just now need a second one because it works well with both knees.  I hope it doesn’t look too dorky to wear them on each knee.

The knee pain was awful enough, but the end of the race made everything worse. Well, let’s just say I have issues ending a race.

For some reason, at the end of just about every race I do, I get dizzy, I can’t run any more, and I start to panic. I don’t think it’s an endurance thing. During a regular run any day of the week, I’m fine. I can go for a 5 or 10k run, and reach the end. I think I get nervous about the people at the finish line which makes the adrenaline (or something) kick in causing the dizziness and then the panic and “ohmygod! I’m going to pass out” starts escalating and I’m in a tailspin of mediocrity and panic. What’s the worst that can happen if I were to pass out? Nothing. Maybe I’d get to go to the hospital and people would send me flowers or presents and I’d be home from work for a couple days! It’s win-win, right? That would be sarcasm people.

Mostly.

I do like presents.

I have to figure out how to fix it, because I don’t like it.  I used to have similar issues before a race, but I think I’ve pretty much squashed them at this point. I still get nervous before a race and have to pee like 75,201 times, but I no longer get dizzy and sick before. I just don’t know what I did to stop it. Maybe it was that I kept doing them? Right now I’m attempting to visualize as I run. When I get towards the end I pretend I’m in a race and that I hear the music and the people. I think about how I would feel and then box it up, calm myself, and try to relax. I once tried to include yoga breathing and the theory of So Hum (which is the sound the universe makes when it breathes, or something), but that had it’s own issues. I have a race on Saturday. We’ll see if this works!

2 thoughts on “Running Free(ish)

  1. Goodluck! When it comes to stressful situations, visualization has always worked for me…that, and repeated exposure. Keep at it! Make sure to let us know how awesomely you raced!

Leave a Reply

