FO: Humanity

Pattern: Humanity
Yarn: Frog Tree Merino Melange
Needles: US 6

_MG_4462

There used to be a blog by Yarnsticks who is one of my best friends. There are friends that will be old and infirm one day, sitting in rocking chairs on the porch of the old lady’s home, knitting and just enjoying each other’s company. That’s us. We’re in different states but she is so important to me that we will be friends long into old age.

When I turned 30, Yarnsticks made a pair of socks for me. A few years later, I drove to her house while 6 months pregnant. I don’t know how it had come up in conversation, but she mentioned that no one ever knit for her. I decided then and there, in my pregnancy-riddled mind to make her something. I made sure to sneak in a hand measurement and took note of a yarn she liked. About a year later, when I thought I was ready to make the hand warmers, I came up with a lie to get a list of hand warmers she liked. About a year after that, I made humanity.

_MG_4461

Let me say this about the pattern. It doesn’t quite make sense the way it is written, but it isn’t wrong. It’s just not written to make sense to me. Basically, the cabling row says to put 2 stitches on the cable needle, then purl, knit 2, and knit the two off the cable needle. If you do that as written, then you end up off the 2 x 1 ribbing. Instead it seems to make more sense (to me) to put 2 stitches on the cable needle, then put the purl stitch on the cable needle, knit 2, purl off the cable needle, and then knit the last two off the cable needle. Did I confuse you? Yeah, I’m still confused, but it worked well enough as far as I can tell, and other than that, it’s a good pattern.

Frog Tree Merino is to die for. I almost did not give Yarnsticks the handwarmers because the yarn is so yummy. I really did struggle. The yarn was so soft that I tried to talk myself into keeping these and knitting another pair. Thankfully, reason took over and I decided that I can knit a second pair for me another day. I have a lot of projects I want to do so if I hadn’t done these, they weren’t getting done.

Seriously, though. Go get Frog Tree Merino and snuggle with it. It’s just that good. Even OP didn’t want to give them up.

_MG_4395

One thought on “FO: Humanity

Leave a Reply

