Dirty Little Secret

You can tell by the title that I have an admission to make. A dirty, little secret. I know what you are thinking. You are thinking that I just admitted to having a lot of shoes, how can I have more secrets? Well, I do. I’m just a complicated woman I guess. Please feel sorry for the Husband who has to put up with all this drama.

So, where was I? Oh yes, dirty little secret. I actually like running. I know! I’m just as horrified as you. I started running because the Husband made it look like fun. He lied. I kept running because I wanted to see if I could be just as brainwashed as all the limping, knee-busting, PR-attaining, fartlek training, mad runners out there. It took several years, but it’s done. I’m one of the brainwashed masses. I am now working on a sub-30 minute 5k which I have done on a treadmill but not yet outdoors. I purchased running sneakers that I only use for running. I shun cotton t-shirts. I even look forward to the occasional 5k races.

I hang my head in shame.

I figured since today is National Running Day it was as good a time as any to admit my new like for running. If anyone is thinking of trying to run, I say do it. As cliche as it may be, if I can do it, you can do it too. And don’t be all, but you already exercised a lot when you started blah blah blah. I could barely run half a block without wanting to pass out. I am just not designed for running. Sitting on the couch with some knitting watching TV? Yes. Zumba? Sure. Not running. Yet I kept trying.

The thing that kept me running was a weird sense of accomplishment after each run. It felt good to have gone out there and run, even if it was a lame, excuse-ridden, woe is me sort of day. So I kept at it, albeit not regularly and often grudgingly (and not at all while pregnant for fear of shaking OP loose). Recently though, something just clicked (or snapped), and I actually like running. I don’t even cringe anymore when I say that! The mental block I had that prevented me from improving just stopped and suddenly I’m pushing a 9:40 pace easily! The other day I bought a jacket that I thought would work for winter running.

I’ll pause a minute so you can let that sink in.

Winter running. Me.

I wonder what the Husband has put in our water. Could he be whispering in my ear at night? “You will like running…You will like running…” If that’s the case, you’d think he’d go with something more like, “You will stop being cranky…You will stop being cranky…” That would make his life much easier.

So as I said, today is National Running Day. Will I run today? Actually no. I ran yesterday (5k in 29:51!!! on the treadmill). Today I swam and hope to do Zumba. But I’m writing about running and I think that will count as good enough. You can go run for me today.

2 thoughts on “Dirty Little Secret

  1. I’ve toyed around with the idea of running… I used to run on a treadmill at the gym a few years ago, but bad form and bad shoes hurt my knees last year, and I haven’t tried it since. I suspect that, if I just started out slowly and was patient with myself, I could do it…

    This post is inspiring. It tips the balances slightly more in favour of taking it up again. Thanks!

    • I say go for it! Start slowly and be patient to avoid injury of course. I have horrible knees but find that if I don’t run every day, it’s not so bad and my knees even feel a little better. That may not be the case for you, but there is a balance. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

