Addictions all around

As any of you who have been reading me for a while know, I am addicted to buying yarn. I am currently not buying yarn for 2011 unless for a specific project or at one of the yarn fests at the end of the year with specific projects in mind. I am happy to report that I have been doing very well with this. I have only bought yarn for my never-ending (but near enough to almost done) Central Park Hoodie Sweater and that’s it. And it’s May! That’s five whole months of no yarn buying.

Unfortunately, I realized that I have another addiction that I need to watch, which may surprise some of you. I have an addiction to shoes. That’s right. This former tom boy owns upwards of 50 pairs of shoes and I have no idea how I let it get so bad!

And, in the interest of full disclosure, I bought a new pair this weekend. But they were really cute! And I liked them! And is it really a bad thing to have like 50 pairs of shoes? Maybe that’s a normal amount?

I keep telling myself that it’s okay as long as I get rid of an old pair with each new pair coming in, except then I look at my shoes and realize that I don’t really want to get rid of any of them. Or the ones I want to get rid of–you know the ones I bought for that one outfit that one time?–those I want to keep just in case I need them again. I mean, if I bought them for that one outfit, surely I will need them again. Nevermind the fact that I have a lot of neutral shoes so I don’t have to buy shoes for that one outfit the next time. I’m pretty much all set.

So what’s a girl to do? How many shoes are too many shoes? How do I start purging when I think every shoe must have a purpose if I bought it and still at least vaguely like it. Do I close my eyes and choose, keep them all, or post a survey of photos and let you all choose? Of course, I could just start telling myself that at least I don’t have 100 shoes and leave it at that. Right?

One thought on “Addictions all around

  1. Well I can tell you Imelda Marcos had too many shoes….you have way less than she did so that is a good thing.

    One way would to start by getting rid of anything you have not worn in the last 12 months. I will give the loop hole for any special occasion shoes that are not typically worn as much, you can keep those during the initial sort out.

    If you have not worn them in a year you either don’t really like them or they do not fit as they should.

    I have recently promised myself I will get rid of any shoes that don’t work for me or hurt to wear. It was quite a liberating thought, that I have not yet put into practice.

    Happy shoe tossing!

Leave a Reply

