Sweater Class

Last week was my first ever knitting class and I am so very happy I decided to take it. We are focusing on the Central Park Hoodie and how you can modify a pattern to actually fit your body. Let me say that I learned a lot.

I’ve decided to do the Viking version since I have access to a teacher who can help me with this modification should the need arise.

sleeve

I'm in love so far.

I’m in love with this variation. I’m a little worried that it’s going to add too much bulk to the sleeves though. You have to add stitches to get the cables to work, but cables tend to change your width because of how they work. We’ll see how the sleeve goes and if it fits the finished measurements after blocking. If it doesn’t, then we try again.

I have to say that I’ve learned a lot from just one class! Some of what I learned is so stupid that I can’t believe I didn’t think of it first. Like, you don’t have to knit the size as listed, you can piece it together. So if you have a 48″ bust line but skinny stick arms, you can knit the 10″ arms portion of the pattern with the 40″ bust body. Who knew? Apparently not me. It’s logic, but I just never thought about it that way. It was my first ‘duh’ moment. I have a lot of those.

Another tip we learned was to knit your sleeve first. It’s the smallest part of your pattern and you can use it as a true test of gauge without knitting an entire back. We all work really hard to get gauge on our swatches, but then as we knit the piece we start to lose the consistency. This is a good tip for this sweater because I’m worried that my modification of the pattern will change the measurements and I’ll be off.

Oh, and always always do a gauge swatch. Seriously. A gauge swatch will change your sweater from homemade to handmade. It’s a subtle distinction, but a huge one. It’s like ironing your seams when you sew clothing. You want people to ask you where you bought that sweater, not if you made it.

In the next two weeks and two days, I need to finish and block the first sleeve and start the back. We’ll see if I can do it. I think I can, but we’ll see. I still have the Husband’s sock to finish!

3 thoughts on “Sweater Class

    • I’m a little over half. 14 inches, maybe? I’m running to the place over the weekend to talk to the instructor. I’m worried it’s going to be too wide around the arm and I just need a second opinion.

Leave a Reply

