I Blame YarnKettle

One would think that YarnKettle was a good person. I mean, she is. She’s a good person and probably the most open-minded person I know. No matter who you are or what you do, she will give you her time, her heart, and her craziness. YarnKettle is one of my best friends and knitting soul mate.  I’m truly grateful she is in my life.

But she’s evil. Make no mistake. Evil.

Remember back when I decided I wasn’t buying yarn until our local yarn festival in September and Rhinebeck in October UNLESS I HAVE A SPECIFIC PROJECT I NEED YARN FOR. Yeah, YarnKettle totally made my buy yarn.

To be fair, it is pretty yarn.

See, last week I received an email from YarnKettle. “I’m thinking of taking some classes at *insert local yarn store here*, would you like to join me?” she wrote. One of the classes was for a hat, one for the Central Park Hoodie, and one a steeking class. I hemmed. I hawed. I said yes. The hat class was during the Husband’s birthday so that was out. I did want to make myself a sweater sometime this year and this would be a good opportunity to do it, learn how to modify the sweater, and get a little me time. Since I always wanted to try steeking, I agreed to that class too.

The problem, however, is I didn’t have yarn for a sweater and would need to buy some. To be fair, this does fit in the yarn purchasing rules for 2011 because it is for a specific project, but it’s only January! I couldn’t have held off to buy yarn until, oh I don’t know, September? But, buy yarn I did. Many skeins of a lovely green Cascade 220.

_MG_3901

Close but not quite as bright as the actual color.

I had a hard time picking a color. I wanted to avoid gray–I have knit myself 2 sweaters and a shawl and all are gray–and I wanted to go with a jewel tone. I just couldn’t decide…blue? red? green? Should I go with a neutral? It is, after all, a cardigan and a neutral would be easier to match with all clothes. I really wanted something bright and fun and not neutral. So after a lot of trauma (like 30 minutes of dithering in the store with YarnKettle and a baby), I went with green. I love the color and I can’t wait to see how it looks. I’m now in the process of figuring out how I want to modify the sweater. I’m thinking of removing the hood, adding a zipper or buttons to close it, and look into some shaping. I’m really exited about this class!

I’m hoping that I can use some yarn from my stash for the steeking class, but I won’t know until I get closer and they post the specs. I think I’ll feel better about buying this yarn if I can use already owned yarn for the next one. In the meantime, I’m working diligently on the Husband’s socks and hope to have the first of the pair knit within the week. We’ll see if that happens. I’m at the easy part right now, but sometimes life gets in the way. Fortunately, it’s fitting him really well so far so my gauge math was correct and I didn’t have to frog!

2 thoughts on “I Blame YarnKettle

Leave a Reply

