Charity Hats

Hat 5 - Leaf hatMade by Hand ran it’s last charity drive this year and I made 5 chemo caps as my donation.

Pattern: My own
Yarn: Sirdar Snuggly Baby Bamboo DK
Needles: US 6

The first hat is a pattern that’s been bouncing around in my head for years. I thought I would take this opportunity to start figuring it out and see if I like it action. I’m not 100% in love with it yet, but I’m not hating it. It’s very floppy, which I’m pretty sure is due to the cotton. Next time, I try it in wool. I also ran out of the white yarn so I had to pick another color from my stash. In my head it’s a monochromatic hat. I don’t plan on leaving the top half plain garter stitch. My intent is for that part to be a different stitch pattern, I just haven’t figured out what yet. This first iteration was more to figure out the connection with the leaves and the rest of the hat.

The other four hats were quick knits that I just knit on the fly. I tried to make more masculine hats because the trend for the chemo caps this year seemed to be more feminine and some men who undergo chemo may want a hat too. There’s really not much else to say about them so here’s the specs and a picture.

Pattern: My own
Yarn: Rowan RYC Cashsoft Aran
Needles: US 8

Hat 2 - Gray 2x2 rib

Pattern: My own
Yarn: Rowan RYC Cashsoft Aran
Needles: US 8

Hat 4 - Simple Gray Hat

Pattern: My own
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran
Needles: US 8

Hat 3 - Green and Orange striped

Pattern: My own
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran
Needles: US 8

Hat 1 - Green simple hat

Leave a Reply

