FO: Charity Pieces 2009

Since I have a few moments I thought I would post a couple photos of charity pieces I made in 2009 for Made by Hand. I did not run Made by Hand this year so I’m not sure about any of the stats so don’t ask. I mean you could ask I guess but then I’d have to make things up. Anyway, both pieces are my own patterns and both extremely simple.

DSCF0063Pattern: Twisted Drop Stitch Scarf
Yarn: Crystal Palace Yarns Deco Ribbon
Needles: US 10

I bought this yarn ages ago when I was more inclined to buy yarn because I thought I could possibly use it maybe someday. I have a huge stash of yarn now so see where that thinking got me? The yarn could fall on top of me and I would die, die people, and while it would be a happier way to go than say, being eaten by piranha, it still wouldn’t be fun.  Anyway, so I bought the yarn on clearance because I wanted to work with ribbon someday and I was so sure I could come up with something. Five years later I finally threw together this charity scarf. It actually came out really nice.

I think I really like ribbon yarn but I’m going to not buy any for a very long time. Besides I still have some novelty yarn in my stash that I um bought because I knew I could make something with it. I am reforming my yarn-addicted ways, I swear.

DSCF0061


Pattern: my own unpublished Twisted Cowel pattern
Yarn: Hip Hop
Needles: US 10

DSCF0056

I can honestly say I did not buy this yarn so there! It’s not part of my disease. This was actually donation yarn from a local yarn shop that is now closed.

The pattern knit up in a weekend. To be fair, the bulk of it was knit while waiting for the Husband to do a triathlon. I hung out and just knit. I even walked around and knit but sadly each time the yarn would fall out of my overstuffed bag and on to the ground whereupon I wouldn’t notice and just walk with an ever-growing tail until I turned around and saw. *sigh* Not my finest hour. Anyway, I wish I had one more skein of this yarn because it’s not as long as I would like. I did turn out nicely however so I’m more or less happy with it. I hope whoever receives it will be as well.

2 thoughts on “FO: Charity Pieces 2009

  1. “…walked around and knit but sadly each time the yarn would fall out of my overstuffed bag and on to the ground whereupon I wouldn’t notice and just walk with an ever-growing tail until I turned around and saw…”

    i have done the exact same thing waiting for my hubby to finish his triathalons. you are not alone.

Leave a Reply

