There’s Klingons on the starboard bow, starboard bow, Jim.

Growing up, I loved Star Trek. I have a very vivid memory of being in the old house and sitting in the living room with my family watching an episode of Star Trek while eating tuna fish sandwiches for either lunch or dinner. Since it was the old house, it was pre-1984 so I was maybe 7. I also remember how excited my dad was when he found out they were making a new series and we would sit and watch each episode. Heck, I even had a “How to Speak Klingon” tape and book.

Then I went to college and discovered good science fiction. Oh I know, how dare I. But let’s face it, Star Trek is and was utter crap. It was ground breaking at the time, I’ll give you that, but it was black and white, utopian crap. After seeing TV shows where they went into morally gray areas or reading books that could blow your mind, I could see a stark difference in quality. Hell, it couldn’t even hold a candle to a lot of Anime. So, I lost most of my respect for the Star Trek franchise that just kept going more downhill with each new incarnation.

Then they made a new Star Trek movie and against my better judgement I went to see it. It was after all, J.J. Abrams and I love Simon Pegg so it couldn’t  be all bad, right? Right.

Well, mostly right. It was good. I don’t think it quite lived up to the hype, but it was enjoyable and done pretty well for what it was. I do admit it brought back some of those fuzzy memories that I have from watching Star Trek, but there were some major flaws to this movie.

The biggest and most fatal flaw was not enough Simon Pegg. Seriously. He was in about five minutes of the entire movie. When you saw him he was fabulous, but I spent the first hour plus wondering when we would get to Scotty. Damn writers.

The next big problem with the movie was the forced dialog. Not that I’m saying the dialog was bad, it wasn’t. It was actually pretty good writing, EXCEPT when they tried to force classic Star Trek lines into it. That’s when it just felt forced, awkward, and uncomfortable. For example, Bones kicked ass. The actor capture him very, very well, but then you have, “I’m a doctor not a physict!” Thrown in as a wink to the audience and it didn’t work. It was even painful to watch at times.

Third biggest problem? The plot. Um…it was pretty bad but I can live with it. Same with the villain. He sort of sucked.

I won’t even get into the relationship because I’m not sure what I think about it. She was very needy and clingy and he…he was okay, but they didn’t seem to have chemistry.

Overall though, it’s a fun movie and I do recommend seeing it. It’s fun and they did a good job with an ever-decaying franchise. They made it work and that’s really all you can ask for. But for those who already saw it, could you see past Sylar and take in Spock? I kept seeing Sylar and picturing him saying, “That’s illogical” as he raises a finger and cuts open Kirk’s head. Maybe it’s just me. Of course Heroes is crap too, but that’s another post for another time.

Leave a Reply

