What happened?

I haven’t posted anything here since September 25. That’s almost two months.  So what happened to me? I wish I could tell you that I was out doing secret government spy work. I wish I could tell you that I was working to discover the cure to cancer. I almost wish I could say was imprisoned somewhere that prevented me from having an internet connection, just for a good excuse.

I can’t say any of those things.

I don’t have a great excuse. Instead, I got tired and lazy. Part of my abandonment is because I slowed down my knitting. It’s not that I lost interest, it’s just that other interests came in to play and the obsession decreased. I stopped knitting every night and instead chose to snuggle up to the Husband and I stopped making time to work on projects. I think I have completed one item since September–Fetching from Knitty which I will post about some day.

The other part of the problem has been this blog. Or at lease, some of the emails generated through this space. I’m not talking about questions or comments I received on my patterns or posts. I appreciate those and they help me grow as a future design maker (if you could ever call me that and I’m not sure you ever will). I’m talking about the random questions I began to receive a couple years ago. The questions were general “ask an expert” sort of questions and had nothing to do with my patterns. At first I was flattered. People were asking me how to do things (Little old me!) and I felt a little like an expert. Then I felt a bit like a fraud because I am far from a knitting expert.  I began to get more and more questions. How do I K2Tog? I have this pattern and it says X but I don’t understand. What does it mean when I’m told to do Y? And on and on and on.

As I said, at first I was flattered and I wanted to help people. I even researched the questions and responded. Then it became overwhelming. As I said, I’m not a knitting expert. Heck, knitting is a hobby not a job. I’m a programmer in real life, what do I know about pattern interpretations? The questions became a burden and the burden became the blog and I just stopped. I walked away.

I started thinking about what to do with this space. Do I walk away for good and just stick with Ravelry? Do I stick soley to knitting project posts? What do I do?

I decided to delete my comments page and not allow comments on any pages which seemed to be the source of the overwhelming questions. Blog posts still allow comments. Then I realized that I do like this space and I missed it so decided to start again. I don’t promise to write every day or every week and I won’t worry about it if I don’t. I will no longer respond to questions not directly related to a post I made and stop worrying about them. Today I go back to square one in this journal and attempt to write here again. I write whatever interests me, even if it’s a one sentence twitter-style thought. I will take it one day at a time and start from scratch.

So, hello. I’m Liz at Kis*Knit and welcome to my blog.

2 thoughts on “What happened?

  1. I definitely get you. I don’t know why people make such odd requests. And better yet… why we drive ourselves mad trying to go out of our way to do the research/learning that they could have just done themselves.

    Glad you are back.

    Personally, I feel like my blog has become like a chore that I don’t have time for. Ravelry \sort of meets most of my knit-blog needs, right now.

  2. Hi Liz, I’m Mike.

    I just stumbled upon your blog via your twisted drop stitch pattern. I’m happy to read whatever is on your mind.

    It is indeed hard to not make blogging a chore. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

