This weekend

Tomorrow is my 10-year wedding anniversary. I can’t believe it! We don’t have much planned because it’s been a crazy year, but we plan to do dinner and a movie to celebrate.

For those who don’t know, the Husband and I went to college together, specifically Uber-Geek Tech. No that’s not the real name but it’s what I’m using for the sake of anonymity. We’ll call it UGT for short. Incoming freshmen had to attend 2 student orientation sessions–one during the summer and the other the weekend before classes started. I went to my first session sometime in July. Apparently the Husband went to every summer session because he was on campus for another program and was bored.

On the first day of the two-day session, I was very very nervous. The school had a student population larger than my home town (okay, that may be an exaggeration, but still) and I didn’t know anyone except Ellen from the neighboring high school. Not that Ellen and I were friends. We were friendly acquaintances having only marched together in marching band. We didn’t hang out.

I found Ellen while I was there (she knew my mom like everyone from my area) and we both were roped into some sort of bonding game in the “Quad.” A bunch of kids who didn’t know each other received a sheet of questions in a chart. You had to ask kids in the group one of the questions. Oh did the joy abound. But I saw a boy wearing a “Hey Jude” Album Cover t-shirt and he had, I want to say shoulder-length hair. I remember his hair being a little long. I thought he looked like a boy named Glenn from high school. Oddly enough I thought he was kind of cute and someone I’d want to get to know. Alas that was our only meeting until school started, and once school started I didn’t think he was cute anymore. Just a really good friend. Like a brother. But that is another story and shall be told another time. Maybe tomorrow…

2 thoughts on “This weekend

  1. awww…. :)

    Happy Anniversary! I’m glad you married your brother… errr… the guy that was like a brother.

    I love that picture, too, BTW.

Leave a Reply

