Everybody Run!

I am sure the five people who read this were waiting with baited breath to see how I ran on Friday. I ran like crap. I don’t know if it was because I hadn’t been feeling well during the week, the heat, or I started too fast, but I just couldn’t run. I walked a bunch and was very disappointed in myself. That said, I ran it in 33:58. The Husband ran pretty well and finished the race in 23:something. He tells me things and I quickly forget them. Yarnsticks (aka Kristina) ran well for her first race and talks about it in her blog.

Image003 (3)

Image003 (3)

Here we are before the race, all happy and athletic (and not sweaty).

The best part of the weekend was spending time with Kristina. We drove out Thursday night and crashed at her place with her dog, husband, and kids. Let me first say that her kids are absolutely adorable. Not only that, but they are some of the most well-behaved kids I’ve seen in a long time. Yarnsticks says that’s because we were here and they were on their best behavior, but to me that is a mark of good parenting. I may have to kidnap the kids for a few days, although I don’t know if the Husband would be okay with that.

I consider Kristina my third sister (after the Sister and the Sister-in-Law). She has been there for me for just about every low point in the past ten years, from when my mom died to my current random craziness, and she doesn’t complain or turn me away. She takes me with open arms for who I am and gives me a new perspective that I didn’t realize. And yes, she has told me things (nicely) that I don’t necessarily want to hear but that I needed to hear.

We haven’t seen each other in person for almost two years and our email has been intermittent as life takes over, so seeing each other for two days and getting to talk was wonderful. I didn’t realize how much I missed it. I need to start making a better effort to visit my sister.

Image003 (3)

Image003 (3)

One thought on “Everybody Run!

  1. Awww… were you trying to make me cry??

    Thanks for coming here and running with me. I am certain that I would have backed out and not run if you had not been there.

    It was really nice spending time with you. Let’s not let that much time pass again, okay!! I’m honestly not sure how that much time slipped past us. Maybe something about time passing faster as we age?

Leave a Reply

