Myrtle Leaf Shawl…of DOOM!

IMG_4789Pattern: Myrtle Leaf Shawl from Victorian Lace Today
Yarn: Skaska Yarn picked up in Rhinebeck
Needles: US 3

For as long as I can remember, the Sister tends toward being cold. Cold hands, cold nose, just cold cold cold. So for her engagement/shower gift I knit a shawl that she could use during the reception where air conditioning would make her, you guessed it, cold. So I had her pick out yarn thinner than dental floss and I began to knit, rip, knit and rip.

IMG_4796

I completed the shawl in time and I was pretty proud of it. It could have been a little longer and maybe a tad wider but I was trying to keep it smaller so it didn’t overwhelm the dress or her. On the night of the rehearsal, I gave her a box with the shawl inside. She opened it before I made it into the temple so I have no idea what her reaction was but I think she liked it. She wore it for the rehearsal anyway.

IMG_4822

She did not wear it at her reception because there was no air conditioning. Am I annoyed? A bit. But what are you going to do?

IMG_4790

I ended up enjoying knitting with dental floss and next time I’m at Rhinebeck, I am going to get more to make a shawl for myself. Except, not variegated and not light. After making this shawl I have strong opinions on what makes a pretty lace pattern and variegated and light colors are not it. If your shawl is made with either, it is very lovely but it’s just not my thing.

IMG_4814

I used the Myrtle Leaf Shawl from Victorian Lace Today. I loved that pattern. If you are thinking of tackling a lace shawl but are afraid to do it, go with this one. It is very simple and repetitive but it looks impressive. The only thing, check for errata. I did but didn’t fully pay attention or understand what I found and ended up ripping out 14 pattern repeats (that’s 168 rows). That was not a happy day, but rather rip it out and be happy than embarrassed by what I made.

IMG_4817

3 thoughts on “Myrtle Leaf Shawl…of DOOM!

  1. wow. it is gorgeous. and quite impressive.

    I think, though, that I might have cried after all that hard work and she wasn’t even able to wear it.

    I mean, not even one picture with the wedding dress??

  2. I was so sad that I couldn’t wear it during the reception. It was just way too hot. But I did bring it with me on my honeymoon (brought it in my carry on so nothing would happen to it) and wore it twice. Plus I have pictures to prove it.

Leave a Reply

