I do not think that word means what you think it means

My week off from work is heaven sent. I didn’t quite realize how burnt out, frustrated, and done with work I had become. I’m recharging and I should be good to go next week. Or at least as good to go as I’m ever going to be.

The sewing is going really, really well which means at any moment a horrible thing will happen and I will need to rip out 20 steps to fix it. But until that happens, my costume is 80% done–I have to hem the skirt, finish the jacket lining, attach said lining, and then add buttons. And I’m going to start the Husband’s costume today. I think this is the best one I’ve made so far. It almost looks like I know what I’m doing!

I need to go off and start on it for the day, but before I do I thought I’d tell you about the name Kis*Knit. Does anyone know where it came from?

After I became obsessed fell in love with knitting, I thought (as most of us do) about opening a yarn store. Thought may be too light a word…drooled over or fixated on may be more accurate. To perpetuate the fantasy I, of course, had to figure out a name for my venture which is when Kisknit popped in my head. It’s a “cute” play on the word kismet (as in, finding knitting was my destiny) and it stuck. I loved it. However, I highly doubt I would ever open a yarn store on my own so it went to the journal instead with a little designer treatment of the * in the middle. Unless one of you lives in my town and want to open a yarn store as my partner…Yeah…fantasy again…

So there you have it. You all now know and your lives are fuller for knowing. Off to sew!

One thought on “I do not think that word means what you think it means

  1. inconceivable!

    instead of a yarn store i dream of a sort of yarn gathering place…you know, a place to organize yarn co-ops, knitting groups and fibery-goodness. it will be, of course, adjacent to an indoor skate park (skateboarding)…moms in twin sets would mingle with the tattoo bearing crowd. computer terminal and printers would be available…and, of course, large comfy couches!! i still have no idea how the venture is suppose to make money…but hey, it’s a fantasy, right!?!

    happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

