Anna is Eeevil

From Anna. And while she is eeeevil for sending this my way and making me think (the nerve of some people!), the first three songs filled my head the week before that Potter book.

Rules: list 5-10 songs that have affected your life. Pass it on to five other people.

With or Without You by U2

In college, shortly after starting to date the Husband I had a very, very bad day. I’m a total drama queen so I can’t recall what set me off this particular time, but it was probably very small and stupid. The Husband, however, spent the evening trying to talk me off the ledge, so to speak. In the end he turned the lights off in my dorm room, put this song on, and danced with me (Which is not a euphemism for something “naughty” because at that time I was young and innocent. *ahem*). It was so sweet and beautiful in that moment with such a wonderful boy that I probably fell in love with him at that moment. At the very least, I liked him more than before. Of course With or Without you is now our song.

New Age Girl by Deadeye Dick

This song is college. It’s light and fluffy and makes me smile whenever it’s on. I think that it qualifies for songs that have affected my life. It also makes me remember a boy I had a HUGE crush on and though we never dated, he became such a HUGE part of my life in that moment. I don’t think the Husband wants to hear that though.

Silly Love Songs by Wings

My mom said she would sing this to me when I was a baby. I don’t remember it but thinking of this song or hearing it makes me think of her.

Carry On My Wayward Son by Kansas

For a long time I thought the lyrics were “Carry on my way, what’s up” Sad, isn’t it? Finding out how wrong I was on the lyrics of this song made me realize how wrong I am on the lyrics of other songs. I would suck at those new lyrics shows on TV!!!! My life’s dream ruined. Of course, I can’t really sing.

Angie Baby by Helen Reddy

Dude, that girl in the song was me in high school. Except I didn’t shrink boys into my radio. I only really, really, really wish I did. I really wanted to be her.

Losing My Religion by R.E.M.

For a long time I was an oldies nut. I would listen to anything from the 50s and 60s with a little 70s light contemporary music mixed in. Mostly I was a Beatles nut. I fled into this “older person” music in high school because late 80s Heavy Metal? Makes me shudder to this day. Sorry all you hair band fans. That’s not to say I wasn’t hip to that modern jive, I watched MTV. I just didn’t really follow it. Then I saw the Losing My Religion video and that song brought me back. I became an R.E.M. fan, fell into Toad the Wet Sprocket (which kind of sounds naughty), was introduced to Indigo Girls, squeed over Tori Amos, and on and on. I became and alternative junkie and lurved it.

There. That is 6 songs which qualifies for 5-10. They are in no particular order except the order they popped into my head.

The 5 I tag: auragone, kristinknits, crankygrrrrrl, Tangled in Laces, and Tryslora

One thought on “Anna is Eeevil

Leave a Reply

