A girl walks into a yarn shop…

I went into a yarn shop and didn’t buy yarn. I did, however, look at spinning wheels.

On Saturday I was expecting to paint some door frames and work on a home craft project. Instead the Husband suggested we go to the Spinning Room and look at spinning wheels. Let’s see, paint or yarn shop. Paint or yarn shop. Off we went to a small town about 40 minutes away armed with, what we were to find out, were very bad directions.

After 10 minutes or so of being lost, we found the Spinning Room and oh. my. god. What a wonderful place. It’s in a small town in an older building. I opened the door to chaos. About 4 loud, boisterous women overwhelmed the place and I freaked out. I was ready to turn around and go home, but we got lost on the way so I would have felt guilty if we turned around right there. So I braced myself and went in.

The Husband and I wandered around the two rooms looking at, and in some cases molesting, lovely, lovely yarn. Okay, I was the only molester. He looked and oohed and ahhed where told. As the gigantic crowd of four left, I ventured to find help with spinning wheels. Wow, was that a mistake. The lovely ladies who work there walked me through the various models in stock, most of them Kromskis and Louets. Then they forced me to sit at three and try them out. It was horrible, just horrible. Sitting in front of various spinning wheels testing them out for 30 minutes. Oh how tragic my day was…I can’t wait to do it again! I loved it and couldn’t stop talking about it for the rest of the day. The ladies were amazing teachers because my mad spinning skillz multiplied after 2 minutes of instruction and tips.

I’m looking at the Minstrel and Sonata. I prefer how the Minstrel looks and since we’re keeping the spinning wheel out in the open, this is important, but I loved how the Sonata felt. As of right now I’m leaning toward the Sonata in the Walnut stain. I think the wider stance was more comfortable and the smooth motion was like buttah. Of course, when it’s time to order, I may go in one more time to try the two again. We’ll see. My life is so hard.

I don’t have quite enough stones in the magic box, but in a few weeks I should be good to go. The Husband assures me that the street value for the stones changes from week to week, so while they normally go for $10, they could go higher depending on demand. Oh and if you are new to this blog, you can read all about the magic box.

So yes, I walked into a yarn shop and didn’t buy yarn. Instead I got hugely hooked on spinning. Fortunately, there aren’t as many places to buy supplies nearby. Yet.

2 thoughts on “A girl walks into a yarn shop…

  1. I have a Minstrel, and it is a beautiful wheel. It looks just right by my hearth. I bought it before the Sonata came out, and I think I would like a wider stance than the Minstrel offers. Not a deal killer for me, I love this little wheel, it is just so gorgeous. I have the mahogany stain version, and I named her Rosalina.

  2. Ok, so you know I’m new to your blog…I read the back story on the Magic Box. I’ve got to say that that is the sweetest, most romantic gift I have ever heard of! You’ve got a keeper! My husband gave me new pots and pans…gee, you think he’s trying to tell me something??? I know some people who’ve gotten into spinning and they LOVE it. I’m still a very new knitter, so I’ve got a lot to learn, but I’d like to get into spinning one of these days. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

