I know I’ve said it before but…

IMG_3425I’ve often joked here about my “yarn addiction” and how my yarn mountain could kill if it were to fall over. Of course, it’s all in good fun. At the beginning of the year, I set up a New Year’s resolution to only buy yarn if I need it for a specific project. How hard could that be?

Do you see where this is going?

I bought yarn this weekend.

My friend invited me and another lady to two shops up north. I went. I told the Husband that I wouldn’t buy yarn unless it was really cheap on sale AND for a Made by Hand project. It can’t be hard to stick to that, right?

I think at that point is when the viewers at home start to hide their eyes because they just can’t watch the character make an idiot of him/herself.

We walked into the first yarn store, one I’m not fond of. The store is small and overrun by yarn. There are paths between the mountains that is only wide enough for one and there is so much yarn, it prevents you from seeing the stock behind it.

IMG_3417I was strong. I drooled over some cotton blends. Oggled some sock yarn with my friend. Fondled even more alpaca. I was about to leave without purchasing a thing. Then, there it was. Beautiful colorways of Lorna’s Laces. I bought 3 skeins of the blue photographed at the top and the brown lower down.

I could only control the fact that I didn’t go more crazy. I had justifications for each skein–I want to make cabled socks for the Husband so the brown would be good or the colors on the other set was too pretty to pass up. It was as if I was watching myself from above as this mad woman took over and molested yards and yards of yarn.

Then we went to my favorite store in the same town. I was strong with the guilt of the last purchase. I passed over the 50% cotton because at a final price of $3.+, I still could get cheaper with sugar and cream at Michael’s.

But of course, I wasn’t done.

I found the Superwash Cascade 220 that is photographed above. I thought it would be perfect for homeless men (Made by Hand again). It’s wool so it’s warm and superwash so it should wash okay. Of course it’s not too cheap, but I have a discount at that store. I picked it up.

I have broken the resolution and my promise to myself that day. And while I joke about my addiction here, I’m starting to think that I really and truly do have a problem. I can’t walk into a yarn store without buying something and that’s not good.

IMG_3422Of course I had a similar problem with shoes and worked my way through it. That said, I may have worked my way through the shoes because of the yarn. And I have yet to photograph the fabulous 3 3/4″ heels for my sister-in-law’s wedding. Absolutely beautiful.

Where was I?  Yarn addiction.

I think I need to stop this now. It’s getting to the point of bad. My first step will be to only go into a yarn store if, and only if,  I need yarn. I’m also  restarting my New Year’s resolution, let it be a new spring resolution. After that, we’ll see. Right now I just need to take it one day at a time…

Leave a Reply

