FO: Socks!

IMG_3392Pattern: The 4 stitch pattern sock from “Sensational Knitted Socks
Yarn: 75% Wool, 25% Nylon
Needle: US 1

I’m writing this while listening to the “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” musical soundtrack. Let’s see how on track I can stay…

Well, the socks have been done for a while and the Husband has actually worn them. And he likes them!

Or that’s what he tells me because he fears me greatly.

I followed the 4 stitch pattern in Sensational Knitted Socks. For the most part I recommend the book. I had a lot of problems understanding why the author was telling me to do certain things during the pattern. After doing it once, I now understand her particular genius.

IMG_3394I picked up the blue yarn from my trip to Rhinebeck. I’m not sure from whom I bought it, but I like it. I especially like how the color flows. Since I still have two more skeins in girly-colors, I am a very, very happy little girl.

Starting out, my major concern was the Husband’s big feet. As in huge. Mammoth. Gargantuan! Okay, they are only a size 12, I think, but he also wanted a high leg. I only had 500 yards and didn’t think I’d have enough for a tall…stance(?) and the colossal foot. So, I went out and picked up the light tannish color for the toes and heel. The yarn even came with dyed to match reinforcement thread. Just not enough. Is that normal? It doesn’t make sense to me that the company would provide the thread only to not have enough to finish the toe and heel of 1 sock. Fortunately, the Wooly Nylon at Joanne’s was in the perfect color.

I didn’t do any of the tricks to make a sturdier sock other than the reinforcement thread. I wanted to use this as a base model to see how my Husband wears his socks. I can’t compare with his other socks because he has some foolish notion that socks with holes should be thrown out. Freak. But a cute freak.

So the verdict is I like making socks and will make them again. The tiny needles are frustrating and the fact that I’ve bent them is even more frustrating. I guess, if I haven’t snapped the darn things I’m doing well.

IMG_3399

One thought on “FO: Socks!

  1. Congratulations on your first socks!!! They are great. I haven’t decided yet if I am going to use that yarn (remember I bought the same thing?) for my husband or my son. Husband’s size 13 wide are causing me to have the same dilemma. Plus, I already have a different fingering weight yarn set aside for him. I am not sure how many fingering weight socks I can make in suck a large size in 1 year.

    The good news for you is that socks are going to seem SO much faster when you make a pair for yourself!

Leave a Reply

