FO: Anniversary Sweater

IMG_2962Pattern: Anniversary Sweater
Yarn: Cascade 220 (whatever colors the Husband picked out)
Needle: US 8

I do fondly call this one the cursed sweater. It’s my first sweater with sleeves and it took for-freakin’-ever to make. I started October 2005 and finished December 30, 2006. I did put it aside a lot as it’s a very repetitive pattern and I could only take so much basic cabling at a time. Once I started devising new and more spectacular ways to introduce the sweater to it’s own demise, I knew it was time to set it aside and work on something else. Plus I had to put it aside for 8 weeks while my wrist was in a brace since the brace seemed to throw my gauge off.

This isn’t a bad pattern, but I don’t like how it’s created and after making it once I don’t think I will ever make it again. The torso is just one big rectangle which makes the shoulders too large compared to the rest of the body. And the lines don’t match up between front and back which doesn’t annoy the Husband, but bugs me to no end.

Still, it was an excellent project to learn about sweaters and I did learn a lot from it. And no, I didn’t learn to never, ever make a sweater for the Husband ever again although I did come pretty close to that one.

IMG_2962a

I did alter the neck from the original pattern, as the mock turtleneck is so not the Husband’s style. But with my lack of experience on a collar, I ended up causing myself more grief. I think I need a bit more experience (uh, and actual research since I just did the collar on the fly) on working a collar.

The Husband claims he likes it and is wearing it right now playing a video game. So it’s done, he’s reasonably happy with it, and I think I picked out the next sweater for him which I’ll make after Tubey for myself.

2 thoughts on “FO: Anniversary Sweater

  1. Oh, so nice! It looks great on him! I think that I would have been poking my eyes out with the needles if I had to do that much cabling. :)

  2. That looks great! My first sweater is/was an unwearable disaster that I think the recipient promptly relegated to the bottom of a closet somewhere, so I applaud your success!

Leave a Reply

