FO: Lace-Edged Women’s Hat

Pattern: Lace-Edged Women’s Hat
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Cashmerino
Needles: US7 (I think)

I’m a bit behind in posting and/or blocking finished objects. I finished this hat at the end of September and is another donation to Made By Hand.

Shedir, made over a month ago, was my gift to my mom but it wasn’t in her favorite color–red. When I picked out yarn for Shedir, I didn’t notice any red in the cotton so skipped it and went with blue vowing that one of the hats, if I had time for more, would be red. When Cerulean Llama had their going out of business sale, I found the Debbie Bliss Cashmerino in a reddish hue.
The hat is my first real attempt at lace–I’ve played with making swatches but have never actually finished a lace project. In my humble opinion lace is quite easy if you know the stitches and this hat is a great beginner project since the lace is only 12 rows of the pattern.

I used just over 1 skein and donated the rest to another knitter. The yarn was very nice to work with and remains pretty soft after knitting (I find some yarns become coarse when worked up, but that may be just me). So two thumbs up on the yarn in that area. Although I have heard that Debbie Bliss yarns tend to pill pretty quickly, I haven’t used it much on myself so I can’t comment there. I’m just hoping it’s not true because I’d hate for a chemo cap to pill after short use.

All-in-all an easy pattern to work with and one more FO posted in the list…

3 thoughts on “FO: Lace-Edged Women’s Hat

  1. I just started knitting chemo hats and would love to make this lace one. I am not good at figuring out how to make them, would you share this pattern? thanks

Leave a Reply

