Felted Asymmetrical Fibonacci Bag

Pattern: My own
Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Worsted in Wild Violet and Silver Sliver
Needles: US8

Technically callled fulling, but I’m more fond of the colloquial reference known as felting. Can I sound more stuck up? No. No, I don’t think so. Anyway, I know “felting” is technically fulling, but I’m a lemming so I will jump off the cliff with the other lemmings crying, “Felting!” the entire way down.Of course, most knitters reading this are now groaning or yelling.

My first foray into felting and I ran out of yarn. Twice. I bought three skeins months ago with no pattern in mind–just liked the colors and wanted that yarn for my first attempt at felting. Unfortunately, I needed 6 or 7 skeins, most of which were in the correct dye lot. Otherwise, it was a very quick knit. It’s missing the last single purple line and last large silver at the top. When you run out of yarn, you have to improvise. But the lack of symmetry gives it it’s name.
Anyway, I did guage swatches in both garter (for the base) and stockinette (for the sides). Measured each then felted both swatches. Once I was satisfied, I measured again. Did the unholy dance of mathematics to get percentages and found my ending points. Then I knit it from the bottom up, knitting the garter base from the center point and expanding out with increases until it was the length I wanted. Once I had that, I just knit in the round until I reached length. It was about 260 stitches.

I had a general idea of how large I wanted the bag–big enough to act as a knitting tote because I just can never have enough knitting totes. It was HUGE before felting as you can see from the pictures.

I need a lot more practice at felting. And I need a zipper bag instead of a pillow case. The pillow case popped open at one point spilling the bag out into the wash. Assuming I haven’t broken my washing machine, I will try felting again (probably with something much smaller).

Now for some comparison shots:

3 thoughts on “Felted Asymmetrical Fibonacci Bag

  1. Love the bag. Beware though, if you not going to line it. I broke a small size bamboo circular needle because it got caught on the fabric while traveling to knitting group. Worse even, the needle wasn’t mine. I had borrowed it to save money. :(

  2. Thanks! I have been told by other people that I should submit the pattern. Unfortunately, I’d have to knit this up again and actually write down what I did as I go. Maybe someday.

Leave a Reply

