FO: Doctor Who Bag

Pattern: The Little Coco Bag by Kate Atherley
Yarn: Brown Sheep Nature Spun Sport
Needles: US 7 (maybe? I didn’t write it down)

Welcome to another installment of FO Friday!!! Yeah, it’s been a while.

The finished product!

The finished product!

I finally finished and photographed the Doctor Who bag! It’s not that it was a complex or difficult pattern, but I kept putting it aside between steps. Knit the bag and stash it away a couple months before felting. Now that it is felted, stick it in a corner for a long time until you get to sewing the lining. Now that the lining is done, do something else for another month before you stitch it in. If I had actually stopped my dithering, it would have been done much sooner. But dither I did.

My phone holder inside the bag.

My phone holder inside the bag.

I used The Little Coco Bag which I found on Ravelry. It is simple, easy to understand, and really creates a beautiful bag, but in hindsight, I would have done a different pattern. Having the loops go through the fabric of the bag rather than be part of the top made  the lining appear a bit odd to me, because it’s not closer to the edge. It’s not bad, just odd. And to be fair, it is growing on me (which means I’m totally wishy washy).

So pretty.

So pretty.

For anyone who is not cool enough to have watched the Tom Baker episodes of Doctor Who, the pattern is same as his famous scarf. Well, the original, anyway. I used the leftover yarn from the Doctor Who scarf from several years ago and followed the scarf color pattern. I did halve the number of rows for each color because I was doing stockinette rather than garter and I was also worried about not having enough yarn. I had plenty.

What it will look like when I wear it. Do you not see the cool spewing from this bag?

What it will look like when I wear it. Do you not see the cool spewing from this bag?

I bought fabric called Timey Wimey from Spoonflower to continue the Doctor Who theme. I of course couldn’t just do a simple lining. Why would I do that. Instead I created my first ever pocket and added a slot for my phone.

Pocket!

Pocket!

I still want to add a clasp to close the bag and need to add Velcro to the fabric that goes over the phone, but it’s done enough to use. I’m super happy with how it turned out. I haven’t used it yet, but plan to soon. The best part? I only lost about a gallon of blood sewing it together!

Someone helped model the pre-felted bag

Someone helped model the pre-felted bag

More photos can be found on flicker.

2 thoughts on “FO: Doctor Who Bag

Leave a Reply

