Archive | August 12, 2011

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes

I knew life would change when I had a baby–less sleep, less me time, less freedom, less sanity–and I’m fine with that. I wouldn’t give OP back for anything. And by back I mean a generic back, small though the child may be, she will never ever go back into my uterus. That would hurt. A lot.

The Husband recently gave me an iPad for my birthday. I was thrilled because I had been frustrated by my cookbooks. I love cookbooks and have a small collection. I should note, it’s not an addiction I have less than 30 cookbooks and I can walk in and out of bookstores without buy a cookbook for years. Actually I haven’t bought a cookbook in the last few years because I can get ideas from this thing called the internet, but I’m digressing. One of the things that has been annoying me is an Indian recipe I made a few years ago. I can’t remember where it is or even fully what it is. I just remember making something Indian from one of my books and buying a Palak Paneer to go with it. I had been thinking about cataloging the recipes as I make them in a searchable database, but wanted an iPad so I could update the database in the kitchen and wouldn’t have to move my lazy butt into the computer room with the cookbook.

Back before we had OP, I would pick a random recipe and make it for dinner. Some were extremely complex and we didn’t sit down for dinner until 8:00. It was so fun. As I looked through one of my cookbooks this week to start adding a few recipes I realized how long it’s been since we’ve done that and was a little saddened that we can’t do that now. That’s not to say that I don’t cook, it’s just that I cook triage while I have a tired little girl who was running around daycare all day who wants to EAT. NOW. MAMA. Right now I cook either simple meals or prep most of it the night before in an attempt to stem the tide. The CSA helps to keep the creative juices flowing, so to speak, but it’s a bit overwhelming to stay on top of figuring out a new vegetable and getting it cooked these days.

What I miss more than cooking, however, is baking. I used to love to bake before OP (BOP?). I just can’t do it now and it’s driving me nuts. Actually, that’s not completely true. I can probably bake, but then I have to clean up the inevitable mess and that just numbs my brain with everything else I need to do. What’s worse is my office has been running a baking smack down every couple months over the last year and I just can’t find the time to compete.  Plus, I have ideas for new cupcake flavors and they just sit in my head.

I could take a day off from work or drop OP off at Grandma and Grandpa’s to get  baking in, but usually on those days I want to (1) sleep, (2) clean, (3)read, (4)knit, and (5) sleep. I’ve tried getting the child involved and it’s worked to a point. Often, she whines and just wants to be held. One time, while I made cookies, I gave her a spoon and a bag of chocolate chips to smash and every time I went to swap out a cookie sheet for the next batch she happily followed me in and bashed her chocolate chips with the spoons. It was seriously cute.

I know in time, I’ll be able to get back to how I used to cook and bake and even get her more involved (and I’m really looking forward to that), but right now I just want to make some cookies or cupcakes. Maybe I can bribe the Husband to clean up the cookie/cupcake mess? How have you gotten your baking in with a child running amok?

Smiling!

Hey, Mama. I'm just happy with bread.