FO: Central Park Hoodie

Pattern: Central Park Hoodie (with Viking Modification)
Yarn: Cascade 220
Needles: US 6 & US 8

_MG_4743

Blocking like a good sweater.

OMG I love how this sweater turned out! Heck, I love it enough to use OMG in a blog post and I don’t do that often. I had a lot of issues knitting and liking this sweater at first.  It seemed like such a burden, none of it was perfect, and I kept ripping it out so it would be perfect. Then I realized it was because my inner Baljeet comes out when I take a class. No matter how much I enjoy the class.

Seriously, I just really wanted an A. So after the class (which was awesome) was complete, I decided to make myself finish the pieces. I didn’t want to stop mid-way through only to forget what I did and find my notes were awful. So I finished every piece and then put it aside, in a deep dark hole, to find my sanity. I even worked on Humanity in the interim.

_MG_4744

Buttons! They are actually made from recycled plastic.

Then I started slowly picking it up again. First I took about a month to seam it together. I tried it on and was a little worried it would not fit, but decided to just do the button band once I found buttons. Button band completed and buttons attached, it was time to try the fit again and. it. FIT! It fit really, really well. At that point, it was only a matter of days to finish the collar, weave in the ends, and do a final block to straighten out the button band and collar. And I LOVE it. It really fits well. I think it fits better than it looks in the pictures since it was still blocking when I tried it (What do you want from me, I couldn’t wait?) and I always act like a dork when I have to pose for pictures.

My (cabled) Guns!

My (cabled) Guns!

I can’t fully comment on how well the Central Park Hoodie pattern was written. I used the Viking variation for parts of it and sort of followed those instructions for a good part of the sweater, but what I did use of the pattern was well done. I do admit, it was a little difficult trying to blend the two patterns together since the Viking version doesn’t include the Central Park  Hoodie parts for copyright reasons, but Lisa Kay does a good job getting you to understand how they fit. Of course, the most annoying part was having to spread both patterns and class notes for some sections of the sweater. It’s worth it though. If you love these cables but are afraid of doing them, don’t be. It’s easier than it looks and you won’t regret the finished product. I did learn how to do cables without the cable needle and was so thankful that I did. It sped up my knitting a lot.

IMG_4735

When I saw someone's version with these cables, I got chills. Yes, I know it's dorky but so beautiful.

I don’t have much to say about Cascade 220. It’s a good and affordable workhorse yarn that produces lovely products. It’s not going to be a lush fabric nor will it be overly-scratchy. Someday I may convince myself to splurge and make a sweater out of the expensive stuff, but really with Cascade 220 there’s not much of a need.

IMG_4736

I'd be yelled at for being too posey on ANTM

So after all the frustration and crankiness, I am so very happy with the product. I hope that what I learned from the class will be translated to more sweaters so they look just as good, if not better. Now, if only it would start snowing…

_MG_4745

I so love that cable.

2 thoughts on “FO: Central Park Hoodie

Leave a Reply

